To Rip or Not to Rip?

That’s often the biggest question when it comes to a project that’s just not going to plan. In this case, it’s a pair of mitts. I bought the pattern on Ravelry and while I loved the original design, the measurements were never going to work with my (apparently) freakishly small hands. At its widest, the mitts hold a circumference of 68 stitches, but a little mathing showed that even with my smallest needles (2mm), knitting at my usual tension, anything over 54 stitches was going to be too big. And there’s no point knitting mitts that’ll just slide off your hands, right? Right.

So I did what any passionate, obsessive knitter would do and rewrote the whole pattern. This meant redrawing the image and rejigging the lettering and fixing the decreases and resizing the thumb hole and basically just starting all over.

Which I did.

But now I’m not crazy about my colour choices (big surprise there, I hear you say) because I feel there’s not enough contrast. And for all my careful math, I feel I could get away with a few more stitches in the circumference. Those floats make the mitts quite snug.

So. This means I’m faced with two options: knit on, or frog. I’m leaning towards frogging. I’ve yelled and raged and had a cry and now I’ve entered the final stage of acceptance and I think that means frogging the fucker and starting over. What would you do, O Blogverse? Ever had a project you worked so hard on only to end up frogging and starting over? C’mon, spill. Make me feel less incompetent and we can commiserate together.

(This is the first mitt, by the way, just before beginning the decreases.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aoife
    Oct 28, 2019 @ 10:12:33

    I recently started a pair of socks but the (fortunately free) pattern was not terribly well written. I already improvised the cast-on because I couldn’t make heads or tails from it, then had to rip part of the leg because I realised that I’d done it wrong, knit the first part of the heel and again discovered that I’d misunderstood the instructions but at least that was an error that wouldn’t have mattered so much as long as I remembered to make the same error in sock two. But then I looked at the instructions for the second half of the heel and had no clue what I was supposed to do. And I guess I could have figured it out with some trial and error but I eventually ripped the whole thing and picked a different sock pattern

    Like

    Reply

  2. Joanne Taylor
    Oct 28, 2019 @ 10:52:02

    Thought you might be interested in this display put on by the same crafting group that put on The Crafted a revelation earlier this year

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other subscribers