The WIP of Doom

Last week I finally finished a massive wip of mine. This shawl took me just over two years to finish. It was a nightmare. The pattern wasn’t written very clearly, at least to my understanding, none of my stitch counts matched, I felt like I was flying blind. But I knit into the darkness and came out – only slightly scathed but somewhat traumatised – on the other side.

I love the yarn. It’s Zitron Filigran lace in the colourway Indian Summer.

IMG_5054 (2)

I had received one skein as a birthday present and, a year later, when I decided I’d knitĀ Ipomoea, I searched desperately for another skein. I found it, and cast on immediately, knitting alternately from each skein to blend the slight variation in dye lots. I knit and knit and knit…

…I knit through one summer, and then through the next. I knit intermittenly through good times and not so good times, and through the pregnancy and birth of my third child. And then I decided it was time. It was time to finish the fucker once and for all.

Pardon my language. Ahem.

Fourth of July weekend I was in my mother-in-law’s house with the kids, and I had just about had enough of this shawl. Since the final chart no longer made an ounce of sense, and I was sick of making up the lace repeat from looking closely at the picture every row, I made the decision to cast off.

IMG_4921

 

It was glorious.

A few days later, I had a brief opportunity to block it. It took up most of the kids’ bedroom floor.

IMG_5031

 

But I’m proud of the result. I’m sad it didn’t work out, but this wip of doom had had a good run and it was time to move on.

 

Onto the next adventure!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chrissyyallisongmailcom
    Jul 12, 2016 @ 16:22:09

    Very pretty shawl!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Handmade by C. Anne
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 11:54:43

    It’s gorgeous!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

