With a little help from my friends …

Apparently I’m a joiner. Well, maybe a virtual joiner would be more accurate. I like a good KAL (knitalong)! KALs are an increasingly popular event in knitting circles across the world. They take different forms, from mystery knitalongs (like Stephen West’s Doodler) to groups who are knitting all sorts of different patterns by the same designer (The Knitmore’s Behm-a-long) or just knitting the same type of project (JOMR’s 12 in 16). 

So, as I said, I’m a big fan of joining in, but I’m usually a bit hopeless when it actually comes to taking pictures, updating ravelry and being counted for prizes. But there is something motivating about joining in with others and knitting to plan … Deadlines can help me get things done (and as we have seen I can always do with a bit of motivation).

So while I have a few that I appear to have joined, one is going more successfully than others – GGK’s 52 Weeks of Charity KAL. All of the details can be found via the link, but the basic idea is to knit one item for charity for every week of the year. I joined up in February, so have a little bit of catching up to do, but so far I’m averaging one a week which is right on point. 

February’s theme in the Belfast SnB group was all about preemie babies and so out came the little leftover yarn scraps to make some hats:

  

Then for March I moved onto hats of a larger size. Belfast has had some unseasonably cold weather of late, and this week saw the fifth death of the homeless on our city’s streets. A group of people who care set up a drop-off point for donations of warm clothing and toiletries for the homeless. These hats (and a few more, I hope) will be making their way to those kindness drawers before I leave here on April 1st:

  

I’m not naive, I know that a knitted hat won’t save someone’s life. I know there are more complicated issues than cold ears. But it’s a start and it’s something I can do to help. A warm hat says someone cares. It says I see you. It says you have not been forgotten. It says you are important and we are here to help.

How do I feel by the end of the day? Are you sad because you’re on your own?

No I get by with a little help from my friends. I’m gonna try with a little help from my friends. 

The Beatles 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisa170
    Mar 25, 2016 @ 10:06:14

    There is a group on ravelry that adopts a pictureless pattern. That’s joining and helping a disadvantaged pattern!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Crafting Rabbit Hole
    Mar 26, 2016 @ 16:07:52

    Oh! I feel another joining coming on ….

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 85 other followers

