When the going get tough, the Tough gets baking

We all have those moments in life where we are overwhelmed with all the demands put upon us.

This modern world is not for the faint of heart; deadlines, taxes, council rates, politics, school council, parent teacher meetings, extended families, neighbourhood policy, you name it and it has a demand on our time.

Don’t forget the added stresses social media put on us!

It can be very daunting.

So yesterday, I took my time back (which is why this blog post is a day late,) and filled my house with happy music, sugar, butter and flour.

My younger son (we’ll call him by his nom de plume of MyLittleCthulhu,) magnanimously choose to help me instead of doing his usual household chores, and we made an epic selection of sugar cookies.


We started with your typical roll and cut out cookie recipe, and made a dozen Daleck, Sailor Moon, and Rollerboot cookies, (we also made some rubber duck ones, but they did not survive the night).

Then I decided to try an appliance I have owned for a number of years but never used, my Cookie Press, or Spritz.

We decided to dye our dough pink and make heart cookies, then MyLittleCthulhu suggested some black hearts to go with the pink. So a second batch was made.


Now, we have been nibbling at the delightful morsels so I don’t have exact numbers, but I figure we got over 40 of each colour. They were so easy!

Normally I think of Spritz cookies being those dry trees with green sugar sprinkles on them and getting them at Consumerfest™, but these were a delight to eat; and adding a touch of cinnamon to the dough gave them a gentle spice.

I am going to make my own Pumpkin Spice Mix and try Pumpkin Spice Spritz cookies next…

IMG_7794

Now if you wish to try these cookies, you can make your own using the recipes I used.

The Roll Out and Cut Sugar Cookies Recipe is found on the WarpzonePrints website. (The place I got the very detailed cutters for my Geeky Cookies.)

The Spritz Cookie Recipe came from the Williams-Soma website, I found it through a Pinterest Search. Remember I added ground cinnamon to my dough, aprox 2 tsp.

IMG_7788

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki
    Mar 18, 2016 @ 12:00:24

    They look tasty!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

