Well That Was Very Lucky Indeed

The other day I came across a blog post by one of my favourite knitters, Yarn Harlot. It was fortuitous and almost a little ominous that I read *this* blog post right at *that* moment, because I was in almost the exact same situation. I was knitting my lace merrily along, trying to come up with a blog post idea. Just like her. And when I stopped to take stock of my work, I noticed A MISTAKE. That’s right, A MISTAKE.  (Yeah, I make a lot of mistakes in my lace. Don’t tell anyone. But I was surprised to hear that she does too! Whee!)

But anyway. Back to my mistake. In her blog post, she says at the moment she finds her mistake, she thinks, ‘Oh! Now I have something to blog!’ My thoughts weren’t quite so, um, positive, but nevertheless, I thought if it worked for the Harlot….

If you haven’t yet clicked over to read her post, I’ll tell you now: be prepared to be shocked. She details a technique for fixing lace mistakes several rows down without ripping back. It’s incredible. And terrifying. And I decided I had to try this. (Never mind that it was almost 2am, our living room lighting is awful and the baby was about to wake for a feed. Because I’m hardcore.)

Here’s what happened.

 

IMG_1112

See those beads just left of centre? See how there appears to be two in line together, a few rows apart? Well they shouldn’t be in a vertical line. They should be staggered, so they fan out at an angle like the set of three beads to their right (just below the marker). And this bothered me. It wasn’t going to be an easy fix, either.

I did just as Yarn harlot did: I isolated the necessary stitches on a separate needle (the six stitched on the KnitPro needle below), then carefully ripped back two rows (those loops of yarn in the pic on the right used to comprise rows 40-43 of my shawl).

Then I reknit those rows, putting the bead where it belonged. This was tricky because I discovered I was missing a stitch somehow, and the easiest way to fix this was to fudge it a little bit. So fudge I did, but I think the end result is better than leaving the mistake as it was. And it took a lot less time than tinking back and achieved the same result as tinking back.

IMG_1119

See? All fixed. Once it’s blocked that stitch I sneaked in there will be virtually invisible.

IMG_1121

You can see that the surrounding stitches are a wee bit loose, gauge-wise, but it’s nothing that a stiff blocking and a crochet hook can’t fix. I’m ever so pleased with myself.

 

But gosh, it did give me a heart attack when I saw the guts of those rows ripped out. Good thing I’m not a heart surgeon. Though heart surgery is probably way less stressful. Probably.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 09:43:06

    That’s just craziness!!!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

