Slogging through ’til Spring 

Last time I was here, the unfinished Christmas presents had taken over the house. I’m loathe to admit it, but they’re still not all finished. Admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery right? So I’ve admitted it, it’s out there, I don’t finish presents in time. Christmas, birthday, there’s even a new baby in the world who is still waiting for his blanket border to be done already!

So with my confession out there in the world, things should be better now … right? Well as it turns out, I have two problems. Yes, I don’t finish presents on time, but also I have a bit of a problem with finishing full stop. Knitting? That’s the fun bit. I’ll knit ’til the cows come home and then sing them a lullaby while I do another row. But the bit after that, be it grafting (takes forever), sewing up (shudder) or just weaving in ends (which I swear is some sort of torture puzzle – can you ever have a finished object without an end poking out somewhere when it’s washed?), that is just a beast of a whole other making. If it involves picking up a sewing needle, I don’t want to know. Now I think about it, maybe that’s why I lose so many needles … It’s clearly a subconscious thing. If I don’t have a needle, I can’t finish the &/:@ thing! 

Here is the evidence of my guilt. A bag full of finished-but-not-finished objects.

  

What’s in here? A baby cardigan that’s at least 18 months old (needs buttons). A pair of chunky slipper socks (need some sort of interesting but stretchy bind off). The makings of a couple of hats, some cowls and dear knows what else is lurking at the bottom (I try not to disturb the lower layers for fear of awakening a beast, I find pretending it doesn’t exist is much more comfortable … kind of like the Loch Ness monster).

Now it’s not all bad, some items have been released from captivity and re-introduced into their native habitat. I finished the knitting and crochet on some winter wear for my friends in December. After weeks of nagging, two friends finally received the washed and ends-woven-in items towards the end of January. The friends who didn’t nag? Well they got theirs last week! 

  
But still it’s not enough. So I am hereby waging war on the incidental finishing of otherwise-finished items. Here is my secret weapon.  

   

Meet the 2016 ends jar. When a project is complete, ends woven in and ‘snip’ a little piece of yarn is left, it goes into the jar. Why? Well there is something quite motivating about populating a little glass museum filled with snippets of finished projects. I see the evidence that work is being done, that I’m creating things and working through the stash of UFOs. It’s a tangible way to track my progress and give myself a pat on the back for a job well done, long after the knitted items have gone to their new owners and I wonder what I’ve done with the first six weeks of the new year. 

And the best part? It’s making a difference. I’m taking out the long forgotten objects and finishing them off. Like this cowl, knit a year ago and left languishing in a WIP bag. 

  
One episode of Hawaii 5-0 later and it’s finally ready to be worn. Two ends down, 563 more to go ….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki
    Feb 16, 2016 @ 23:00:01

    bring them home with you for some snb wip busting

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

