Baby, it’s cold outside

I’m currently huddled under my duvet and a billon blankets because winter has finally decided to arrive. It’s like Hoth out there and all I can think about is being warm again.

Knitted socks are a must as are all the knitted accessories – hat, scarf, mitts, wristers and boot toppers. Knitters wait all year to be able to wear the fruits of their labour’s but me, I’m in under a blanket.

image

So warm and cozy

Usually it’s this blanket which you need to look at sideways. It’s draped across the back of my sofa and remained there for the 3 seconds it took to snap that rubbish photo.

That blanket is the warmest I’ve made. It’s a 4 stranded job – 3 strands of dk with a strand of 4ply through it. The wool content keeps the heat in and it really needs a wash at this stage. I’ve plans for a sequel to this one so the hubby and I have one less thing to argue about!

Last year I also made 3 versions of the same blanket pattern:

image

Version one

image

Version 2

image

Version 3

Blanket 1 and 2 are made with stylecraft special held doubled and are knitted as per the pattern.

Blanket 3 is vannas choice (single stranded) and up sized as a mothers day present for my mother in law. I knitted a full ball for each colour section to make it longer and wider. She even seemed to like it!

Right now I’m working on yet another one, blanket 4:

image

The colour sections are shorter but there will be more of them.

And what pattern is this that I’m obsessed with? Its the Wesley crib blanket. Think of the stash busting you could do!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fairytalefrog
    Jan 15, 2016 @ 00:00:51

    It is clearly an addictive knit and I’m loving the colours in your latest blanket even more than I expected to. They’re a real wow combination, each making the next look even better.

    I’ve had a bit of repetitive pattern thing going on lately – 7 barley hats, 4 calorimetrys, 3 crocheted shell beanies, 2 knitted hoods and a partridge in a pear treeeeee!!!! Lol

    Like

    Reply

    • Crafting Rabbit Hole
      Jan 15, 2016 @ 15:11:27

      I’ve 2 barley hats to do as well…..such a great pattern.

      The new blanket is better in person, can’t get the colours right on my phone. The last block is nearly done and then I’ll be onto the strips.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 84 other followers

