Ugly Holiday Sweater/Jumper

Now now, don’t get huffy.
I’m not one of those people who on the first of September starts posting those cartoony memes about how many shopping days there are until the 25th of December.

But I am a planner, and as a crafter this means I do plan time to create the things I need for the Holiday Season.

I really don’t like last minute rush to get things just right. It fries the synapsis in my poor little brain and I need my brain to interpret Rowan* knitting patterns.

So, working on the HIGHLY scientific principle that many of the same tacky items together make something fashionable and desirable I take all the leftover scraps that I have accumulated this year; (and I will admit some from a few years previous to this) and create tiny little Ugly Holiday Sweaters.

IMG_6811

Tiny Little Jumper

I have been knitting these off and on for ages now, each year adds a little more to my pile.

FullSizeRender

This Year’s Selection (so far)

The pattern is incredibly simple and gave me the confidence to start knitting top down raglans in full size after the first 100 of these I made.
(I once foolishly thought that these little Jumpers would be the prefect greetings card substitute. That was a long LONG LONG holiday season.)

I found the pattern on the Greens and Jeans Blog and refer to it about this time each year to make a new batch.

 

IMG_6827

Fuzzy coat hangers are safe for hand knits.

After I knit up bunch I grab some pipe-cleaners and manipulate them into little coat hangers so that these adorable little scrappy jumpers (see they aren’t tacky anymore,) can hang on the tree, or wreath, or garland of my choosing.

Now, of course I’ve not got my decorations up YET, so my thorn hedge had to be the model for today’s photo shoot. I must admit it did very well despite the lack of preparation.

IMG_6829

*Rowan knitting patterns, it has come to my attention, are actually written in an obscure dialect of a dead language that has been mangled through Google translate. One needs a PHD in R’lyehian to understand it fully.

P.S.
To those who are following my on my quest for the perfect rainbow, I still have not found it, but I did find the sweetest contender dyed by Green Elephant.

11080886_793578240729221_937378091370196847_n

Image Yoinked from Green Elephant’s Facebook page.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jaele
    Nov 19, 2015 @ 22:01:40

    Love that rainbow, and now I’m adding tiny jumpers to my knitting queue!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Nov 20, 2015 @ 08:52:05

    I love these little jumpers. Thanks for coaching my through my first one!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

