In Search of the Perfect Rainbow

Know me, know my love of anything rainbow.

The tutu of awesome

The tutu of awesome.

I love colour, if it’s bright, bold, and has a girl from Kansas singing about it I am there. I also love the idea of little shoemakers hiding pots of gold under my knitting, but that is a delusion for another day.

Today I want to talk about my hunt for the PEFECT skien of yarn, the skien of yarn that I have been hunting for my entire knitting life.

The perfect rainbow skien.

Rainbow Perfection exists

Rainbow Perfection exists

You see, in my mind, this skien has long colour gradation with bright bold colours and no muddy middlings. This skien has the perfect balance of warm tones and cool, not favouring one over the other. There is a harmony of the reds and purples, the greens and yellows, and the blue is something witnessed on a balmy summer day when there are no clouds in the sky and no chores to be done.

Socks that hinted at a good rainbow, but ignored the purples.

Socks that hinted at a good rainbow, but ignored the purples. (in progress shot)

I know this yarn exists, because I have seen it. Other people have knit wonderful shawls, socks, and even baby clothes with this yarn. But when I ask them where they got it I find it is discontinued, or the next dye lot is too yellow or has no greens.

Sparkles and short colour gradients did not satisfy my need with the vortex shawl (in progress shot)

Sparkles and short colour gradients did not satisfy my need with the vortex shawl (in progress shot)

I have tried many times to find this perfect yarn, I have looked at commercial dyers and small independent ones, bought skeins with silver threads to add glimmer, and stuff named after popular unicorns, but I never find it.

My Little Pony colours tempted me but were too gentle, too soft, too short for the rainbow perfection.

My Little Pony colours tempted me but were too gentle, too soft, too short for the rainbow perfection. (in progress shot)

My quest continues, because as we all know the fun is in the hunt.

Many skeins of yarn created a good Rainbow ripple blanket. Can one skein rule them all?

Many skeins of yarn created a good rainbow ripple blanket.
Can one skein rule them all?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jaele
    Oct 26, 2015 @ 22:38:33

    Love this post!! It’s so you! 😀

    Like

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 10:35:24

    I see now that it’s much harder than I realised. I still think spinning is the solution!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

