The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

20131015_201720

It’s almost Halloween, one of my favourite times of the year. I love the autumn, I love crisp fall days with multi-coloured leaves and a nip in the air. I love all things pumpkin, even the colour, and I especially love all the crafting opportunities!

First there’s the pumpkin carving. I mean, what’s not to like about sculpturing squash into something spooky? Of course it’s messy, and sticky, and it’s a fair amount of work, but the end result is worth it, amirite?

 IMG_2391

20141029_200247

Then there are the costumes!! If you sew, then they can be as elaborate as you want to make them, like this princess dress I made for my daughter, or the Jack Skellington tux and tie I made for my son:

20141223_130550

jackskellington

Or you can cheat a little and buy something that you can adapt easily. I did this one year and used sweatshirts. I turned them into a dragon and a purple minion costume. Comfy and easy!

20140307_085058

20141023_153453

And for the wee folk, a simple hat will often suffice….

DSC_0145

And then obviously you can cheat a lot and just buy a costume and tell everyone you made it….

IMG_0709DSC_0069

20141026_100347

Aren’t they cute?

And let’s not forget to include the whole family….

osanbangsincostume

Wishing you all a safe and happy All Hallow’s Eve!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

