I’ll show you my favourite obsession

This episode is brought to you by my newest obsession – FINGER KNITTING!

When I’m not knitting (which, it turns out, is a very high proportion of my time) I’m a teacher. And usually I don’t get much opportunity to mix teaching with knitting, except for those rare occasions when I’m so caught up with all my work that I can knit during my break (ha! fat chance!). But this year I had the opportunity to volunteer myself for a knitting after school club. So from Tuesday of next week I will have a bunch of ten little students ready to become knitters with a capital K!

Now the kids will buy their own supplies for the club, but I can only give them the list of what they need on the first week. So what do I do with them for an hour after giving them this list? A fellow teacher suggested showing them how to find patterns and discussing the history of knitting with them. While I appreciate the suggestion, I think nothing is more likely to turn a bunch of 8 year olds off a new hobby than a lecture on its history. No, no – it needed to be practical but with a minimum of tools required. So finger knitting it is.

Now I had never tried this before, thinking that as I already knew how to big girl knit with circular needles, DPNs, the works, I didn’t need to use my fingers. But I’ve come to quite enjoy it (as witnessed by the complete lack of schoolwork or housework that has been completed since I started down this road on Tuesday evening).

I started looking at a few tutorials and made my own version combining a few tips and techniques together. If you’re familiar with finger knitting, feel free to skip the “how-to” pictures below and get down to the “now-what” pictures at the bottom.

Mostly I use two or three strands of a DK, Aran or Chunky weight yarn (depending on what I’m making). I start by making a slip knot and placing it on my left thumb, palm side up (photo on the left). Then I wrap the working yarn under and over my fingers working to the right hand side (top photo). Then wrapping it around my pinky I go back the opposite way, so now there is one loop on each finger (bottom photo).

Next I repeat those last two steps, so I have two loops on each finger and can start to knit (top photo). I pull the bottom loop from each finger, over the top loop and off the tip of my finger. Repeating this for each finger, one at a time, until I am back to one loop on each (bottom photo). Now I’ve completed one row of finger knitting – easy, right? After about five rows, I release the slip knot from my thumb and give the yarn a bit of a yank to tighten it all up. Now I can see the knitting starting to form into a long tube, similar to I-cord, at the back of my hand (photo on the right). I continue knitting in this way, tugging on the cast on tail every row to tighten and even out the stitches, until I’ve reached the desired length of knitted tube.

To cast off I slip the first loop, from my index finger, over on to my middle finger. Now there are two loops on my middle finger, so I pull the bottom one over the top loop and off the top of my finger. Then I move that loop onto my ring finger and repeat. And again, onto my pinky finger and repeat. So now I have one loop left on my pinky. Cut the yarn and feed it through the loop to fasten off.

If you’ve been making it along with me – congratulations! We made a tube!!! Now what?

Well, I exhausted what I could think of as the obvious applications of a quick knitted tube …. Meet my necklace, bracelet and hair scrunchie:

Then a quick youtube search led me to an earwarmer made by joining three tubes together:

And then a particularly funky looking scarf made from a LOOOOOONG tube of chunky all wrapped up and seen shut:

And guess what I’m doing now?

This is the beginning of a double bed size blanket. Once I thought about joining them together, it seemed the obvious next step. Mind you, for a woman who hates sewing up any part of a knitted project, this seems like a step too far. But who doesn’t want a blanket this squishy?

Will this become a languishing WIP? Or will I overcome the fear of finishing and sew as I go? Answers on a postcard please.

Nic

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 08:30:23

    Don’t dream it, sew it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. xaaragirl
    Nov 30, 2015 @ 05:02:27

    I ❤ finger knitting, I've started on a scarf but I don't know how to join the pieces. 😥

    Like

    Reply

  3. xaaragirl
    Dec 29, 2015 @ 14:05:15

    Thank you! I’ll be sure to try it 😀

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 84 other followers

