knitting in a tin can

As I sat with my wip on my knee admiring the view and enjoying the sound of the rain battering the caravan roof, I wondered if Tin can knits was dreamt up in a similar setting?

My wip being Stephen Wests Welty.. Perfect caravan knitting! Engaging (loved the welts) but simple enough to drop instantly when my peacekeeping skills were put to the test by my 4 and 2 year old!

image

Going home for a week to restock (clothes, water, food.. But most importantly knitting supplies once welty was done!) was almost my downfall though.. (I’ve consequently learned to be more organised, and decisive!)

I brought yarn, blocking matts, fig scented Soak, needles to knit Low tide by Tin can knits (how could I not?!) but didn’t have time to print the pattern (but downloaded it onto my phone so I should be fine.. Right?)
I brought yarn to start hexipuffing (Yay!) but no stuffing, dpns, or of course pattern!! (not looking good, is it?)
I brought my Boo.. Be with you.. But after one attempt to get it out when the kids went to bed I didn’t try again… Caravan and a lace weight, 100% silk, two colour beaded shawl just don’t go together in my opinion! Far too terrifying! (And I love horror films!)

But it’s fine I can knit Low tide.. Right? Wrong. Forgot my phone charger! A week without knitting in a caravan in donegal (and yes it was the week of constant rain!) was enough to make a grown woman cry, but thankfully a fellow knitter came to my rescue!

Nikki just happened to be in donegal at the same time (albeit the complete other end of the county!) so we had prearranged to meet halfway to make up for missing knitting group and she sent me back to my tin can with everything I needed to knit.. You guessed it.. WELTY!

A heartfelt thank you Nikki, and the fabulous Stephen, from the bottom of my eternally more organised knitting bag, for enabling my knitting in a tin can!

image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Adamz
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 17:21:58

    Every knitter needs someone willing to deliver supplies. You are very lucky.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Crafting Rabbit Hole
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 18:15:39

    Us knitters look out for each other! 😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

